top of page

What Is A Commonplace Journal Anyway?

Updated: Mar 4


“Oh, Susan, there is no such thing as a common day. Every day has something about it no other day has. Haven’t you noticed?” - Anne of Ingleside, L.M. Montgomery

What is a commonplace journal anyway? And is it boring or exciting? A bother or a blessing?

Recently I looked up the meaning of the word “commonplace” and found synonyms like “unremarkable", "uninspired” “unexciting” and a number of other ‘un’ words that sounded rather boring. This probably should not have surprised me given the fact that the word “common” is included in the name, but still... I keep a commonplace journal. Have I been keeping an unremarkable, uninspired, unexciting journal for the past few years?


Unremarkable and common could very well describe my small journal. But does common equal boring? If something does not seem unique, is it “unexciting”?


I beg to differ.


To put it simply, a commonplace journal is a journal or notebook full of pithy quotes and excerpts. It’s a journal dedicated to your personal collection of book titles and quotes.


In my commonplace journal I have a section to record the number of titles I finish and a place for my favorite quotes and passages. More recently, due to something I heard from the author Jonathon Auxier, I have started including not only my favorite quotes, but also the first and last sentences of each story.


I started my first commonplace journal around three years ago after I first learned of them from Sarah Mackenzie at Read-Aloud-Revival (though, I had vaguely heard of them before). I started because I wanted to see just how many books I could read in a single year. And I believe I can honestly say it has changed my entire reading experience.


It is wonderful to see all the quotes I have collected over the years. There is such a variety and as I flip through the messy pages of my tattered notebooks I can remember all the grand adventures I’ve been on. Taking note of what is written in stories has made me read at a deeper level and notice things that I might have brushed over. I have so many odd treasures dug up from different stories (much of them from middle grade fiction). So many bits of wisdom, reminders, and advice. As well as rich truths about God and the Christian life passed along through biblical books. And sometimes nothing more than random ridiculousness.


No matter how small the quote, if it is true and resonates with you, it can be recorded with honor and dignity in the annals of your journal. Sometimes a single quote highlighted out of a stunning story or explanatory book can, on its own, bless almost as much as the entire book.


Just because something is common does not mean it is boring or unimportant. Look closer at what you read; find the hidden gems, look closer and find the glory behind the perceived mundane. You would be surprised where you can find things. Whether you read or not; if you simply take note of things and find the time to jot them down, you may find you have something rather exciting. Some of my collected quotes are small and silly (as you shall see), but that’s the point. It’s supposed to be fun and unique to each person. It is a commonplace journal after all, so fill it with a glorious mix of extraordinary, silly and common quotes and I shall endeavor to share the same variety here.


So... would you like to start a commonplace journal?



P.S. If you truly want to start one, but struggle with remembering where quotes are in the books you read, these can help. They’re called Book Darts and are perfect for marking your favorite passages and quotes until you’re ready to copy them out. Amazon.com : Book Darts: Thin Stainless Steel Mini Bookmarks - 50 Count : Office Products


36 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page